Become APMP Certified

APMP offers the world’s first, best and only industry-recognized certification program for professionals working in a bid and proposal environment. APMP certification is the global standard for developing and demonstrating proposal management competency. Achieving APMP certification:

      • Demonstrates a personal commitment to a career and profession.
      • Improves business development capabilities.
      • Creates a focus on best team practices.
      • Gains the respect and credibility of peers, clients and organisational leaders and, in some cases, additional compensation.
      • Reinforces bid/proposal management as an important role within an organisation and not as an ad hoc function that anyone can perform.

See which level of APMP Certification you can achieve below, based on your industry experience. Each level builds on the prior level, and everyone must start at Foundation before advancing to Practitioner and Professional. To view all upcoming Certification Training dates, please click here.

If you are a You should have
Proposal professionals with 1 to 3 years’ experience

Foundation Certification

Demonstrates an extensive knowledge and understanding of best practices.

Proposal professionals with 3 to 7 years’ experience

Practitioner Certification

Demonstrates a mastery of how to apply best practices and lead others in their use.

Proposal professionals with 7 or more years’ experience  

Each level is assessed in a different way, requires a minimum level of experience, and uses a process of examination and competency-based assessment, which is consistent and measured against worldwide best practice standards.

The 2002 APMP Benchmark Study and the Business Development–Capability Maturity Model (BD-CMM) are the basis for the international Bid/Proposal Manager competency standards. Capability Maturity Model and CMM are registered trademarks of the Carnegie Mellon Software Engineering Institute

The APMP Certification program is administered by The APM Group Ltd. for APMP. The APM Group is a leading Accreditation, Certification and Qualification organization recognized internationally by government agencies.

APMP certification is maintained by earning continuing education units (CEUs) every two years. For details about APMP continuing professional development (CPD) guidelines and CEU requirements, click here.

APMP certification is recognized by the following designations.

Level APMP
Members and Fellows Designations
Members Accredited*
No Certification APMP
(APMP Member)APMP Fellow
(APMP Member and Fellow)
Foundation CF APMP
(Certified Foundation, APMP Member)CF APMP Fellow
(Certified Foundation, APMP Member and Fellow)
Practitioner CP APMP
(Certified Practitioner, APMP Member)CP APMP Fellow
(Certified Practitioner, APMP Member and Fellow)


Professional CPP APMP
(Certified Proposal Professional, APMP Member)CPP APMP Fellow
(Certified Proposal Professional, APMP Member and Fellow)

* As of March 2018

The syllabus is available here : APMP_Certification_Program_Final